Logo do Site

Medical Microbiology

General Microbiology

The Department of Virology team is composed of 11 professor-researchers. The research lines are on basic and applied research, including mosquito-borne viruses, as well as plant, enteric, ocular, respiratory and HIV viruses. Other lines of research involve the study of compounds with activity against various types of viruses, including the Herpes viruses, Influenza virus and HIV. The extension activities of the department aim to divulge scientific knowledge in Microbiology and Virology, by bringing this knowledge to primary and secondary school teachers and students as well as to the public in general. In addition, professors from this Department are responsible for the Microbiology course offered to the Distance Education Students of the CEDERJ consortium. Research is funded by national development agencies such as CNPq (Universal Project, Millennium Project and Thematic) and FAPERJ (PPSUS Project, Pensa Rio Project, Jovem Cientista do Nosso Estado [Young Scientist of Rio de Janeiro State]). The Department develops national and international alliances, sends students abroad to improve their techniques and complement their education. These alliances help the development of significant research for the study of Virology in Brazil and in the world.

Virology Coordination

Head of Department: Norma Suely de Oliveira Santos
E-mail: nsantos@micro.ufrj.br

Deputy Head of Department: José Nelson dos Santos Silva Couceiro
E-mail: jncouceiro@micro.ufrj.br

Secretary: Vitor Maurício
E-mail: vitor@micro.ufrj.br

Secretary: secviro@micro.ufrj.br
Phone/Fax: (+55 21 2560-8344 or 8028 / +55 21 2270-3941 or 0990) Ext. 117
Dial-Dengue: +55 21 2562-6698

  • sbctacnpqfaperjcapespetrobrassbm
  • rede de tecnologiafinep 2agencia de inovacaosebraeembrapanpi
  • projeto coralperiodicosCurta Logo Print 2cienciacommicrobios